My First Ever Zucchini Bread!

You know what I love? Farmer’s markets. You know what I love even more? The produce I find there, in all it’s seasonally priced, organic glory. Yesterday, I got to experience that feeling of bliss when I picked up some not-so-teeny zucchini for 50 cents a piece.

Giant zucchini with a medium sized apple for size comparison.

Giant zucchini with a medium sized apple for size comparison. So huge!

Aren’t they beautiful? Needless to say, this is going to be a week of meals chockfull of zucchini goodness. After last night’s asparagus zucchini spaghetti with lemon and olive oil, today I made my first ever loaf of zucchini bread!

I know, you’re throwing up your hands, shaking your web device (in lieu of shaking me), asking How have you lived your entire life up until now without experiencing zucchini bread?! It’s a question I’ve never asked myself until this day, because this vegan zucchini bread is damn good.

A perfect loaf with my favorite oven mitt.

A perfect loaf with my favorite oven mitt.

One of the first things I learned how to bake was banana bread. And ever since, I’ve loved making it. I guess I never felt compelled to try zucchini bread because me and banana bread had such a strong bond. You can’t compete with nostalgic connections, you know? But as I’ve learned today, there’s room in my life for both. And thank goodness for that!

Fresh out of the oven!

Fresh out of the oven!

So, of course, I’m going to share this incredible recipe with you! And you will also be able to experience a whole loaf of delicious zucchini bread! I mostly followed this recipe from Hell Yeah It’s Vegan! but made a few small changes, which I’ll include in the recipe posted below. Be sure to check out the original recipe – that’s where all the magic started!

Vegan Zucchini Bread

makes 1 loaf

  • 3 tbsp flaxmeal
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1/4 cup raw cane sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1-2 tsp agave*
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups grated zucchini*
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

*Notes: Because I reduced the amount of sugar from the original recipe, I added a drizzle of agave to add a little extra sweetness. The bread turned out incredibly sweet, and I think could have done without the agave. I used more zucchini than the original recipe called for, but I think it could have used more. If you get as excited about zucchini as I do, use as much as 2 cups.

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F and lightly oil a 9×5 loaf tin.
  2. In a small bowl or ramekin, mix together the flaxmeal and warm water. This is called a flax egg, which will act as a binder in this recipe. Learn more about why it’s important to replace eggs in recipes here, and don’t give in to the free-range myth!
  3. Let your flax egg sit for a couple minutes. In the mean time, grate your zucchini! Have fun, and never be afraid to make a mess.
  4. In a large bowl, combine the flax egg, sugar, coconut oil, applesauce, and vanilla. Mix in the zucchini. In a separate bowl, mix together the dry ingredients: the flours, baking soda, baking powder, spices, and salt.
  5. Add the dry mixture to the wet and mix well, until everything is combined. If you’re using walnuts, or any other mix-ins, now is the time to fold them in gently.
  6. Bake for about 55 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow the loaf to cool for at least 20 minutes before slicing. Enjoy for breakfast, lunch, or dessert!
Delicious zucchini bread enjoyed with a green smoothie made of hemp milk, banana, peach, mango, and spinach.

Delicious zucchini bread enjoyed with a green smoothie made of hemp milk, banana, peach, mango, and spinach.

I’m so happy with how this loaf turned out, and I can’t wait to try more new and exciting zucchini recipes! Next on my list is 101 Cookbooks’ Lemony Chickpea Stir-Fry.

Do you have a favorite zucchini recipe? What’s your favorite food to pair it with? Please share!

One thought on “My First Ever Zucchini Bread!

  1. Pingback: Cafe Courtside’s Cinnamon Banana-Hut Muffins | Anyshare

Leave a Reply

